Yes, I’m a slacker. But the words keep forming in my head even if I don’t write them down. Does this mean I’m a writer or a nut-case? If you say “both” I’d believe you.
Anyway…here are some “starters” – things to get the creative juices flowing. Recorded here just in case I can’t remember them later.

Hocus Pocus  http://www.worldwidewords.org/weirdwords/ww-hoc1.htm
Hocus pocus, tontus talontus, vade celeriter jubeo
hoc est (enim) corpus (meum)
hax pax max Deus adimax
hocus pocus dominocus

My vision – not to corrupt any ideas that you may come up with – but my vision is some character has found some words like the above written on a burned piece of paper. He/she reads the paper and something magical and unlikely happens, or regretfully something doesn’t happen. The writer of the words may be known, but is a mysterious person, obviously a conjuror or trickster.  On a broader view, the people looking – ah see! two people – at the paper are sleuthing out something. Perhaps this is a Victorian era investigation, or a time-travel investigation, which shades of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Who.

What’d you come up with?

