Again with the Monday. What’s up with that šŸ˜‰
One of the areas I need to work on as a writer, among many, is the ending. I have a ton of stories started. I mean, just look at the 100 words in 100 days I’ve been doing. Lots of story starts and not too many story ends. At this point, not to many story middles even. For some reason, I can plot the beginning, and most times, the middle. But when it comes to ending things – to getting to that climatic moment and then sliding down in to happily ever after, I draw a blank.
I’m not entirely sure why. Perhaps it’s because I can’t imagine my characters achieving an ending? Or because I can’t imagine a climactic event? Or because, in the romance area, I don’t believe in happily ever after. I don’t believe in one guy for one girl forever more and they they are so perfect together that there are no other possibilities. Not buying it. Perhaps, and this comes as no real surprise, I’m not a real romantic.
Which reminds me of Romancing the Stone:

Gloria: Joanie, you are now a WORLD-CLASS hopeless romantic.
Joan Wilder: No, hopeful. Hopeful romantic.

So endings. How do you determine when in the “rising level of conflict” you reach the climactic moment? Some people look at their characters and say “Oh, I know how this ends. I can see their HEA. I just move backward from there.”
It’s not that I don’t want my characters to get together or to overcome the bad guy. I do. I’m just not sure how to get there. Any ideas?

