In my quest to find out how to write an ending I found two books. Story Engineering and Story Physics (by the same author). I read the first three chapters of Story Engineering and so far its wordy and not helpful. But, I have hopes. One of these days the author is going to get down to actually talking about his Six Core Competencies that make all successfully published or filmed stories work. And hopefully somewhere in there he’ll talk about endings.

I also found other links to (hopefully) helpful ending techniques.
Scribid
and
The creative pen

In pondering my reluctance to generate endings and over all plotting, and in reading Larry Brooks’ book, I agree that I’m a “pantster” and don’t like to plan things out to exact detail because I get bored with it. I get bored with it when I don’t plan anything. It’s like cooking for me. I have the basic knowledge to cook, but I really don’t like spending a long time standing in the kitchen cutting things, mixing things, and then waiting for those combinations to actually cook in some manner. And then the art of doing more than one thing at the same time in the kitchen (like making a sauce while something else is cooking) – multitasking. I don’t have those skills and I’m not sure I want them. Left to my own devices, I cook simple things that I can make and the clean up and then not have to spend hours waiting. So – no turkey dinners at my house, sorry kids.
I suspect that having a blueprint for a story, as Larry Brooks suggests, is probably a good idea. In graphic design, or when planning a website, you should probably have a plan. I’ve learned this. I’ve done it. It’s a pain but my projects did work out a little better when I planned. It’s just like making a movie; seventy to eighty percent of the work is in pre production.
I aint scart. So, I’m going to try it. Blueprints here I come! I hope my stories come out better than my food.

