I revisited Randy Ingermanson’s Snowflake Method yesterday, and bought the book (which I seem to have purchased before but don’t have anywhere). His main premise is to start small and revise and add details until a full plan emerges. Then write it. 10 steps.
In the book, he points out that the author should know who he/she is writing the book for. And it was hinted that it that person is a lot like the author.
With that in mind, who is similar to me? Who am I writing for?
I write for me, primarily, because if I don’t like the book – it’s not going to be written. Nanner nanner.
For my rock n’ roll book, I wrote it for people who like 80’s heavy metal/hair bands, who like ghosts and demons. Being a “child of the 80s” that makes perfect sense to me. So my target audience are people who are also children of the 80s (which actually means that they were born in the late 60s early 70s – making them children of flower children?) Generations are hard to understand.
Will everyone like the rock book? Nope. Don’t care. Which is probably why it will come out (if I..WHEN I finish editing it) on Amazon as an e-book.
For Tad and The Leprechauns/Kiss Me I’m Irish, I suspect my target audience are those who read urban fantasy/paranormal. The Snowflake book said to be more specific. Get a smaller target audience, and then if you please them, they will tell others and that’s how good word-of-mouth marketing happens. So more specific for Tad. People who like faeries and vampires, who like the idea of the Wild Hunt, who like kick-ass girls and dorky boys? I’m writing this book because Tad amuses me. Mickey amuses me. FiFi amuses me. The story, I guess, is supposed to be amusing.
Meh. I’m not buying the ‘write to your audience’ thing. I think that almost requires one to get paranoid about pleasing people one doesn’t even know. Hard enough to please myself eh?

