Story ideas to work on from tv tropes.
I’m reading a book called The Moral Premise by Stanley D. Williams, Ph.D.
It is mostly directed toward script writers but it has good information. As my current quest is to figure out how to incorporate that “theme” junk into the books, this book will be helpful (I hope).
I am also still reading Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman, which is about how we think. I like this book but it takes a lot of concentration to keep with it. Not light reading.
I have also been re-reading some Patricia A. McKillip books. She is my favorite author I think. One of them at least. I also think that she has retired from writing as she has not had a book out in four years. That makes me sad.
Another favorite author, Lois McMaster Bujold, seems to also have retired. She hasn’t written anything since 2012 and her last books were finishing off her stories (as was the last book from Patricia McKillip). This too makes me sad. And then there’s Roger Zelazny
Who am I going to read now?
I love my Kindle and it gives me access to thousands of titles and new authors, but I haven’t found a new author recently that I just have to read. Okay – I read J.D. Robb and Nora Roberts fairly regularly, because that is a well-established brand with mostly consistent quality (except that latest trilogy – the Cousins O’Dwyer – which I find the characters to be kind of annoying). But I’m not generally – OMG, you must read this book – about Nora Roberts as I am about Lois McMaster Bujold or Patricia McKillip. I guess I want that OMG feeling again. ::whine whine::
Maybe Goodreads will have something for me.
Or maybe I just need to write my own OMG story (once I figure out what aspect makes it OMG).
Yeah Pongo, maybe you should write something.

