1. Write a story about a New Years Eve party that causes time to stop.
2. Use the following in your story: an undercover detective, the back of a converted van, and a box of Franzia (wine).

“In front of you, on each table as the centerpiece, you will notice a small black box with a miniature twirling gizmo similar to a globe. All of them should start spinning now.” At his now, he pushed a remote that he’d had hidden in his hands. The gizmo did twirl and a red LED lit up on the box.
“These gizmos, I call them temporal nodes, emit a field the faster they turn. Once they reach a certain velocity, they will link and connect to the main node,” he gestured to the parabolic dish to his left. “And time as you know it will stop.”
The black and gold dressed folks lined up around the room, surrounding the tables and looking less and less festive and more and more like a security squad.
The temporal node gizmo on our table was spinning so fast that it was a blur. When it started to emit a purple-blue gas? light? everyone gasped. I heard gasps from other tables and assumed the same thing was happening all around the room, but I couldn’t seem to take my eyes away from the node. Charles, who was sitting across from me, had put on his sunglasses and was smiling. I struggled to raise my head and managed to get a quick glimpse of the rest of the table. They all had sunglasses on, even Corrine. They seemed to be able to look around without an issue. Corrine was watching the light crawl across the ceiling.
“What, no glasses for me?”
She didn’t look but passed me a pair under the table. I quickly put them on. I had no idea why sunglasses were needed, but if the super brains at my table had them on, then I wanted them too.
Corrine grabbed my hand just as the light from our side of the room reached the other light and the big node started to spin.
“Here we go,” she whispered
“You knew about this,” I whispered back.
She shushed me, acting calmly but her hand was cold and she seemed to be shaking.
Professor Almstedt stood under the canopy of purple-blue light, sunglasses on, looking up and giggling like a demented schoolboy.
The big node reached the proper speed and spat out a jet of red-orange light into the doom of purple-blue. There was a bang, more felt than heard, and time stopped.
The professor looked around at the still bodies in the room, and I did too. At the next table, a lady wearing pearls had them clenched in her hand. The strand was in the process of breaking, with one pearl frozen in mid-air. Most people had their gazes on the still rotating nodes.
The professor walked over to us. Corrine and the others stood, so I did too.
He bowed in front of my wife and said, “Congratulations Corrine.”

