Corrine’s arms circled me from behind. I could feel her face, warm against my back. She hugged me for a few moments and then let go, and I turned and put my arm around her.
“I don’t want to live in a world without you,” my wife said. Captain Corrine seemed to have stepped out again.
I kissed her and said to Coltrane, who was still pacing, “I see what you mean by ‘coming through in waves.'”
“I can’t believe you two don’t know Pink Floyd.”
“Not personally, but I know of him,” Corrine said.
“It’s a band,” I added.
“OKay. Do you know Max the Zone? They’ve got a great song about time travel.”
Corrine and I exchanged baffled looks.
“You know, ‘I’d follow you, no matter when, no matter where?'”
We shook our heads.
Coltrane rubbed his face.
“Tell me about 1999. What was important that year?”
“Well, I asked Corrine to marry me.”
She smiled at me and slid her arm around my waist.
“No, not personal. What was going on in the world in 1999? Specifically, what would make an impact on your future?”
“Besides being killed?” Captain Corrine added. She stiffened in my hold and stepped away. I flinched.
Coltrane spread his hands in a gesture of acceptance.
I thought about it for a moment.
“1999 in my world. Okay, Bill Clinton was impeached. Everyone was freaked about about Y2K, especially in my office because we had all of our client files on an ancient database and of course our IT guy hadn’t done anything about updating.”
They both looked at me blankly.
“Y2K. Corrine had a problem with it too.”
“Not this Corrine,” The Captain said.
“So what does that mean?”
Coltrane shrugged.
“Don’t shrug. You’re the detective. What does it mean?”
The Captain stopped our impending argument by saying “Let’s try the tire thing again. Or maybe we can move the blanket to the front seat so that Henry doesn’t have to be at the back of the car when it’s hit.”
“And let’s see who’s driving that other time machine.”

