You’ve heard me bemoan the fact that I can’t see to finish things. Hell, I’ve proved it here – but I am going to keep working on it. Preserver.
With that in mind, here’s some mind exercises solely for my benefit.
Act III – Transformation/reward earned
Let’s say the hero is in a race and he wants to win. That’s his goal.
So at the end of the race, he’s won (because this is a HEA kinda day). What is he feeling?
Tired because he’s run a fast and hard race. Elated that he won. Amazed that he won, maybe surprised at himself. Confident now that he’s won; yeah, he can do anything. Prideful that he’s beaten his competitors.
So he earns his reward. What’s the reward?
He’s finished the race, so that’s a task completed (a reword in itself). He receives recognition from his competitors and from the spectators. Maybe he gets a ribbon or some tangle item that he can cherish and which allows to him to relive his victory. Maybe he’s proven to his mate/potential mate that he’s a good bet. Maybe he’ll get a reward from that person too (wink wink).
It’s a man vs. man and man vs. self situation.
So he’s felt all of this stuff – do we just plop down the opposite in the beginning? He’s not confident that he’ll win. He’s not tired. He’s not elated, he’s full of dread/fear. He thinks perhaps he’ll place but winning? That’s a little out of his reach in the beginning. Maybe if he places, he’ll still get some sort of reward. And if he doesn’t place, at least he participated. It’s the journey rather than the destination, or so he tells himself. What he really wants is to win. And win big. That’ll prove X wrong. That’ll catch Y’s eye.
I think what I’m missing is the why. Why run the race? To challenge himself? To prove something? So at the end, he can say “yes, I proved … by winning” or “no, I didn’t prove … because I lost, but I learned …”

