Since San Diego Comic Con International I’ve been non-stop busy. And not writing. I am, however, doing a little fiction editing, which has been challenging and a good learning experience. I hope to turn this apprenticeship (although I’m not really apprenticing to anyone) into a more full-time paying gig – so that I can do less line/grammar editing at my day job. I’ve moved, started a new romantic relationship with someone in a different city (yeah – it’s a challenge but I think we’re up to it), started fiction editing, and been to Flagstaff, AZ; Great Meadows, NJ; and Ventura CA. I’ve seen my brother’s love-mate for perhaps the last time (that’s depressing – she has cancer and the outlook is not good). I’ve spent a lot of money (not surprising).
I should write something though.
With that in mind, I bring you the layered approach.
The layered approach is start small, add details, revise, repeat.
Jack and Jill nursery rhyme
Jack and Jill went up the hill
to fetch a pail of water.
Jack fell down and broke his crown
and Jill came tumbling after.
Up Jack got and home did trot,
as fast as he could caper.
To Old Dame Dob, who patched his nob
with vinegar and brown paper.
When Jill came in, how she did grin
to see Jack’s paper plaster;
Mother vexed did whip her next
for causing Jack’s disaster.

So we have Jack, a male, and apparently Jill, female, his nemesis. There’s Old Dame Dob and someone’s mother – who may or may not be the same person. Are they siblings? Friends? Jack and Jill Dob?
Could this rhyme be turned into a story? Does it have a beginning, middle, and end? Conflict? Could it be made to fit various genres?
I think so. So – my writing challenge (to add to the pile) is to make short/flash fiction stories for various genres using the above rhyme.
More on this soon…

