There are actually 50 days left until The Change. I don’t feel like writing today but here I am because that’s what writers do. They write. Duh.
Torgood and Gestin have stuff going on but it’s back-brain stuff, so I’m going to let that percolate for a while.
So today’s writing prompt from Writer’s Digest and this day in history from the History Channel

Your old villain quit over creative differences, so you’ve put yourself in charge of hiring a new villain for your novel. What questions do you ask? What does the new villain’s resume say? Write this scene as if it were a job interview.

Body of Lindberg baby found

My assistant showed the man in and gestured to the seat in front of me. I sat upon my thrown, a cushy leather-bound recliner – currently un-reclined, and regarded the man/semi-man/monster.
“What are you?” I asked. That hadn’t been my first question but it just popped out. The man’s face seemed mostly normal, other than the tendril of glowing purple tattoo that crawled up his neck and circled his jutting chin like a strange circle-style goatee. The place between his brows seemed scabby and slightly off colored compared to the rest of the dark skin of his face.
He smiled, showing me gnarly shark teeth and the scabby part opened up, showing me a predator eye with its vertical slit.
I glanced at the sheet my assistant had left me.
“It says you are a phasepest, Mr. Anming Long. How does that help me?”
He pulled out a red gem from his pant-suit pocket and held it up. The gem pulsed and I heard his words in my head.
“Oh, that is helpful.” I said in response. I glanced at my sheet again.
“It says here that you kidnapped a child during the 1930s and framed a German immigrant for it. Pretty ingenious. Why did you kill the child?”
His gem blinked a few times and I blinked with it.
“Really. Lindbergh’s child was a flower angel?” I tapped my wrist and my assistant’s voice responded, “Yes, master?”
“What happened related to flowers in 1932?”
“Walt Disney put out its first film called Flowers and Trees.”
I turned back to Mr. Long. “You tried to stop that with the Lindbergh baby. Inventive. Congratulations, you have the job.”

