There had been a long silence, both between Torgood and I and from the outside world. Many hours must have passed, and we received no water or update on the fire or any visitation what so ever.
Torgood seemed content, humming to himself, but I felt the needed to do something.
“So how did you,” I started to ask, but Torgood roused himself from his slumped position and answered before I finished.
“Become a thief, assassin, and all around nice guy? It happened when you were in recovery from the fire. My mother sent me to the Grand Council to ask about the fire and on the way there, Smat and his group robbed me.”
I stopped pacing and turned to regard him.
“So you thought I’d like the experience myself?”
He shrugged. “Changed my life it did.”
“So you joined them. Were the Dvergr apart of the group as well?”
“No,” he shook his head. “Why do you call them that?”
“That’s what they are.”
He looked puzzled.
“Dvergr are a people from the south. They deal in minerals mostly and are magical, obviously. I’m not sure why they’d be here though, they’re long-time enemies of the Nord.”
He raised both eyebrows at me in question. I searched my memory for more information but a gray soup of the mind obscured any other memory.
“The Nord are from the north.”
He sniffed dismissal of that information, but then added, “Oh – wasn’t there a Nord queen of some sort – married one of our kings? She killed him and disappeared.”
That didn’t sound familiar at all. “Was there?”
“Before we were born,” he added.
We lapsed into silence and I put my ear to the metal grate, hoping to hear something of the world outside. All was eerily quiet.
I went back to pacing.
“Where’d you learn to fight?” Torgood of my memory hadn’t been trained, as I hadn’t been trained, in anything but rural implements.
“Remember – ha, you don’t but – there was a strange trader who came about the time you…”
He paused and I sat on my haunches and gave him my full attention.
“I, uh, have something I should tell you. But I don’t want you to be mad. I mean, if we’re trapped in here and burn to death, I want you to know so that you can go to the elements in peace. So that we both can.”
“I’m really not interested in going to the elements,” I commented but gestured for him to continue.
“I’ve two – no three. Well, two at least.” He took a deep breath. “I want you to know that I just remembered this myself – so your guess that Tiria was a witch might be accurate.”
“What does Tiria have to do with this?”
“Do you remember the wildfire?”
“I told you I don’t…” I paused. I did remember – all in its appalling glory.
Torgood went on, “You had a head injury that made you forget the people you loved. Tiria tended your wounds and suggested – maybe magically – that we go along with whatever you said.”
I thought of the crying child I couldn’t save in the fire.
“Rand was my son.”
He nodded. “And Jeslynn is your wife, not your sister.”

