Did I mention that I am a fan of Chuck Wendig?

WRITERS HAVE TO WRITE EVERY DAY OR THEY DO NOT APPEASE THE WORD GODS, AND IF THE WORD GODS GO UNAPPEASED, THEY SEND UNTO YOU THREE CROWS, AND THESE CROWS WILL SPEAK THE FORBIDDEN WHISPERS THAT ROB FROM YOU THE WILL TO CONTINUE, CURSING YOU WITH WRITER’S BLOCK UNTIL YOU AGAIN COMPLETE THE SACRIFICE OF 2000 WORDS PER DAY AND SO THAT IS WHY WRITERS MUST WRITE EVERY DAY —

Of course, to get better at writing, one should actually write. I wrote something recently. Here:

“Come on, Tika. The water’s nice,” Benj called from where he stood, waist deep in the dark water of the pond. Tika watched him flex his muscles in the moonlight. The sounds of the Blades played in the background, a croak of a frog, a mysterious spash, the buzz of flying insects.
“Nah,” she said, stubbing her smoke out in the damp moss at her feet.
“I can’t believe a half-aquarid is afraid of a little water.”
“That swamp water’s nasty. Besides, I’m out of drink.” She held up her empty bottle.
He put his hands on his hips and snorted. “You’re scared. Admit it.”
She folded her webbed fingers into a rude gesture and stayed on the shoreline.
“If Fel were here, you’d come in.”
She frowned at him.
“You know what? I’m done.” She turned her back on him and went back to the carrige.
“Oh shit, what was that?”
She glanced back and said, “Benj, don’t be more of jerk.”
“No really, I saw something. I think it’s a…” He splashed his way out of the water, saying “Oh shit, oh shit, oh shit.”
He got in the driver’s side of the carriage and slammed the door shut. Tika got in also.
“What?” she asked.
He furiously rubbed the comcrystal to get it to wake up.
“It’s dead. Does yours work?”
“You know I can’t use my comcrys – my father would kill me if he found out where I was.”
“Tika, come on. It’s an emergency. There’s a dead body in the water.”
“A what?” Tika moved to open the door.
“No, don’t. It’s missing a head. Let me see if I can get a charge off the carriage.” He pulled open the storage box and pulled out a cradle. He fit the squarish blue-gray crystal into the cradle and pushed the button for the carriage to start.
“Could you tell who it was?” Tika asked after they both watched the dead comcrystal for a moment.
“Did you miss the part where the head was missing?”
“Well, can you tell me if it was human or aquarid?”
He scoffed. “I didn’t check for webbed-fingers if that’s what you’re asking.”
Tika crossed her arms and sat back on the carriage seat with a thump.
The comcrystal started to glow faintly. Benj called the CLE and reported his find.