Nova stared at the spot where the evil undead faerie witch king been and shook her head. The undead aspect had been the key, for everyone knew that the undead cannot cross over water. She looked out at the river just in time to see the wolf’s head disappear under the water.
“No!”
A moment later, Fenris’ head popped up. He swam over and crawled up on the barge’s stern, naked.
She turned away.
“You’ve seen me naked before,” he said, opening a cabinet and pulling out a towel.
“You were eight or something. Besides, I’m not supposed to see you like that until our wedding night.”
“Who says we’re getting married?”
That stopped her short.
“You turned me down.”
“I changed my mind.”
“Besides, didn’t you say you wanted to marry a king rather than a prince?”
“That was–”
“I’m not sure my father wants to marry again. If you married him, you’d be my mother and that’d just be weird.”
Nova turned to look at her friend. His familiar, beloved, yet still ugly face looked stern.
“You left me, as a wolf, in the dark forest and ran off with my royal barge with another man.”
“But, but…”
“Huh, I don’t know if I can trust you,” he said, wrapping the towel around his waist and sitting down next to the tiller.
“Fenris!”
He pulled her down onto his lap.
“Nova!” he replied, and kissed her cheek. “Will you marry me?”
“Yes and don’t ask me again.” She tried to sound stern but ended up laughing. His laughter mixed with hers.

So he forgave her and they were married. The end.